Skip to content

Gledelig Jul!

18 December 2011

“Christmas in Oslo feels low-key,” says Rick Steves. “You’ll find it best not in the streets or in the malls, but in the homes with friends and in music.”

I couldn’t agree more. Steves “Norway” segment of his “European Christmas” program portrays Christmas in Norway exactly as I have found it to be in Bergen as well: a celebration of tradition, warmth, song, good cheer, and of course, light.

 

Merry Christmas

and Happy New Year!

God jul og godt nytt år!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. kutubuku permalink
    18 December 2011 18:29

    I know that your family is not Norwegian, but I’m just curious whether Norwegians do like the Danes: singing and dancing around the tree?

  2. 18 December 2011 18:55

    YES! Absolutely! Adults, too. I have to say, though, that it might be the only part of the “tradition” that I don’t get into. Do you sing that song about going around the Einebærbusk and then sing it really slow for Sunday morning? That cracks me up!

    • kutubuku permalink
      18 December 2011 19:21

      LOL I still feel awkward although this will be my 6th time doing it *rolls eyes* We do it on the 24th night, just before opening the pressies. With classic (Danish) christmas songs, nothing about some bush tho’ LOL

  3. 18 December 2011 19:58

    I loved this! It is really a good depiction of Christmas in Norway. However in Lillehammer, we have A LOT more snow!!!! It is so pretty here now!!!!!

    • 18 December 2011 21:33

      I thought so to! Even the slow tempo of things came through. Am jealous about your snow. We have SLUDD – which is tyhe perfect-sounding word for it!

  4. Bente permalink
    18 December 2011 22:28

    Måtte bare dele denne artikkelen:) Synes den sier så mye om nordmenn!

    http://www.aftenposten.no/nyheter/iriks/Det-finnes-nordmenn-som-ikke-liker-sn-De-har-et-helvete-p-jord-6722935.html

    • 21 December 2011 14:15

      Takk, Bente! If I have time I might see if I can post an English version of that. 🙂 Men hva synes du? Er du glad i snø og må du ha snø å være glad?

      • Bente permalink
        22 December 2011 20:13

        Hehe. Ja, jeg er glad i snø, men først og fremst i desember-januar, og først og fremst den lette, fine sorten akkompagnert av fint vær og 2 minus grader;) Holke og slaps er grusomt!

        Når det kommer til skigåing er jeg sånn passe begeistret…. Jeg liker best koseturen i ferien med bålbrenning, kakao og appelsin. Jeg ser kanskje for meg at jeg kommer til å gå mer på ski når jeg får barn. Det er litt ironisk siden jeg selv har barndomsminner hvor jeg i sinne over bakglatte ski og bratte bakker hamrer stavspissene ned i skiene mine…. Samtidig har jeg også mange fine barndomsminner av skiturer i fantastisk solskinn, med knirk i steget og perfekt snødekte trær…. Og min favoritt, måneskinnstur når snøen glitrer og alt er akkurat så trolskt at du ikke blir redd! Det er fint dét.

        Skigåing har imidlertid i dag i mye større grad blitt en treningsform og et statussymbol. I Norge er det (sånn jeg ser det) jo ikke så populært å vise klasse med mer “tradisjonelle statussymboler”, men du kan alltids putte all verdens penger i sportsutstyr og vise hvor mye overskudd og tid du har til å trene, gå Birken, og generelt være kvalmende sunn. Jeg for min del synes kondomdrakt-befengte-supermenn ødelegger noe av gleden av å gå i løypene i marka…men det er min mening, da.

  5. 19 December 2011 16:26

    Thanks for the video. Maybe someday I will spend the holidays in Norway.

Leave a Reply

