Skip to content

No bad weather … and no clothing!

31 January 2012

If you read this blog often, you will know that the national motto of Norway is: “There is no bad weather, just bad clothing.” It’s how Norwegians manage to throw themselves out into any type of weather. It’s also how they manage to ever leave their houses.

But what about no bad weather, no clothing?

A fellow ex-pat living in Lillehammer (who admits she has “been accused of being special”) recently posted a blog on her new-found hobby: ice bathing. Read that again. Not ice fishing. Ice bathing.

“The current temperatures in Norway are below freezing, and the thought of ice bathing sounds GRUESOME!,” she wrote. I should add that she’s from Florida.

“ICE BATHING increases circulation, REDUCES CELLULITE, and strengthens the immune system.” Which sounds enticing, I admit. But did you know your bare feet can get stuck to the ice when you step out of the water, much like Flick’s tongue to that flagpole in A Christmas Story? And just how do you take off a swimsuit that has frozen to your body?

For all the answers, and incredible pictures of this Norwegian “sport,” visit Goodness and Grit.

(She has begun ice bathing with friends every Thursday morning at 7 a.m. Crazy? Maybe, but I admit I want to try!)

"Goodness and Grit" blogger Kimberly Mengshoel writes: "The animated expression on my face says it all!"

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. kutubuku permalink
    31 January 2012 08:24

    People at my (Norwegian) office have ice bathing club. They do it once a week in the open water next to my office. They even hand out free bathrobe after you’ve done it for 10 times LOL

    • 31 January 2012 20:46

      Ok, now seriously … Where are you my adventurous Bergensers??? Or is this just a “southern” thing?

  2. 31 January 2012 10:40

    She is bathing about 400m from the house we rented last year. I’m glad we moved, or else I might not any excuse why I wasn’t free to join her!

    • 31 January 2012 20:45

      Really? Are you guys that close? I was thinking about the deer and ducks who bathe there every day without excitement and photographers. 🙂

  3. 31 January 2012 14:37

    I found myself saying “no way!” until I read the part about reducing cellulite… So I will let Jena be the gunea pig and tell me how it goes. (Not that we have any ice in Baltimore at the current time… In fact it will be a balmy 64 degrees here today!)

  4. 31 January 2012 15:59

    Does she hack a hole in the ice to swim? That would be the part that would give me the best exercise here, the ice is a foot thick! (We do have a sauna, though… hmm…)

    • 31 January 2012 20:45

      So funny, Aven. The newspaper headline on her blog says, “They won’t stop until the ice stops them.” We complain about cold in Norway, but it doesn’t compare to Canada!

  5. 31 January 2012 16:55

    If ice bathing makes her look like that, we should all start doing it!

    • 31 January 2012 20:41

      LOL! Yes, exactly why I’m trying to get a group going here in Bergen (I think a group is important — attempting this on my own sounds, well, VERY crazy.) Come on, Bergensers – who’s with me?!

      • Teresa Owens permalink
        1 February 2012 23:55

        not I, said the one from Las Vegas, not I.

  6. 1 February 2012 11:52

    Thanks so much Jena for sharing the CRAZY!

    Klem,
    Kimberly
    PS
    Yes Emily and I are THAT near each other, and do lunch when our schedules permit!
    Aven, When Mjøsa froze we moved up to a canal that has enough current that the water doesn´t freeze. We swim like crazy and go no where. Cause for more giggles than looking at naked ladies wearing wool caps and socks.
    Jon, you are my new best friend!

  7. 16 February 2012 12:09

    I have a colleague who goes every friday (she’s an expat from Scotland). She says she LOVES it. It is the thing that clears her head the most. Would love to hear if you’ve tried it!

    • 16 February 2012 12:15

      I’m still waiting for someone who is willing to go with me! You’ve got to put me in touch with this adventurous colleague! 🙂

Leave a Reply

