Skip to content

Morning walk

24 September 2012

If I had never moved to Norway, would I have learned to walk? To walk without a destination, to walk without a watch and something I must hurry home to do, to walk without headphones or a steady aerobic pace, to walk and be still. So still that I can hear the tongues of sheep slopping mouthfuls of grass between their teeth. So still that I notice when a leaf falls to the ground, tickling others leaves as it floats through the branches. So still that when I slide on a mossy stone and “Woah!” slips out of my throat, I feel embarrassed by the intrusion my noise makes into this quiet sleep of a world.

And when the dirt path turns to gravel and tumbles to a stop at Salhusveien, my world is pierced by the boisterous laughter of school children, and the loud deep rumble of a recycling truck as it changes gears, and the music escaping from a passing jogger’s headphones. But I pull my arms inward and remember how, just minutes earlier, I turned around and caught the sun winking at me through the yellowing leaves of a rowanberry tree.

I inhale gratitude and walk home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Teresa Owens permalink
    24 September 2012 17:21

    It seems iike those are the moments to get you through the 7′ annual typical rainfall there….it makes those quiet moments so much larger and quieter….Lovely photos, and making me reminisce….

  2. 24 September 2012 18:47

    The quiet is one of the best parts of living in the country anywhere in the world.

  3. 24 September 2012 22:47

    Beautiful…

  4. 28 September 2012 11:27

    Absolutely beautiful. I lived in San Francisco for almost 20 years and feel like I learned to walk there. I am deeply grateful that I can continue my love of walking in this gorgeous country, for all of the reasons you so eloquently described.

Leave a Reply

